Wednesday, 27 October 2010

The Foundation Phase

The Welsh Assembly Government is in the process of rolling out the Foundation Phase for children in Wales aged 3 to 7 years old. From September 2011, school children in Wales from Nursery to Year 2 will be taught according to the Foundation Phase curriculum. What does this mean?

The Foundation Phase curriculum is based on seven Areas of Learning:-
· Personal and Social Development, Wellbeing and Cultural Diversity
· Language, Literacy and Communication
· Mathematical Development
· Welsh Language Development
· Knowledge and Understanding of the World
· Physical Development
· Creative Development

These areas were identified from research into the way children learn and encourage a curriculum which focuses on development of skills and experience. Find out more about early years education at shelf mark 372.21 in Townhill Library and try 155.413 to find out how children learn. There is more information about the Foundation Phase and access to supporting documents on the Welsh Assembly Government website:

If you’re a student or member of staff at SMU and are looking to support your work with young children, don’t forget to try the Teaching Practice Collection on the first floor of Townhill Library. We have a wide range of picture books, junior fiction and non-fiction books to support all sorts of themes and topics. Come and have a look!

No comments:

Post a Comment